top of page

As I was falling music came to me last night.. it told me.. everything.. will be alright.. it sang a

Joe and me @ the Jamplant @ the revolution

I've remastered 'As I was Falling'.. it's taken a while but it was worth doing.. it originally came to me at quite a dark time in my life and lifted me.. and it still has an uplifting effect! I made an attempt at remixing but I've settled for uploading the remaster over the remix for now.. I recommend using some high quality headphones or really good speakers to enhance and optimise your listening pleasure - it was originally recorded and mixed using some old (but great) Panasonic minidisk headphones as monitors (!) and with up close intimacy in mind.. > I'll try and write and include more detail about this songs' journey.. maybe some lyrics too.. it's quite wordy.. anyway.. for now.. Enjoy!

As I was falling - Lyrics.. (as I recall them!)

"..I lately find me tired of endless treadmill days, and tv dinners, served on plastic trays, I'm boxed in with my gadgets and I'm feeling nothing, but the suck of screens and blast of microwaves.. " "..I've smoked enough to stone a billion crows, skipped by obliteration, how.. god only knows.. I've sat here at my easel drawn my own conclusions.. funny how my ego.. painted such delusion.." ".. forgetting what I came here for, living to consume.. the mother cries for me while I'm crying for the moon.."

"Nights and days of joy and tears will come and go, as to the centre of my years my journey flows..

"Your life is what you make have you forgotten what you know.. Become your own creation yeah.. growing with the flow.."

Now I feel to do what must be done, I'm reeling rhyme and reason answers have I none.. the melody keeps flowing, through my heart and soul, warp factor nine, I'm sailing, as it leads me home.. "

"Remembering what I came here for.. Love is all I know.. returning to my centre.. yeah.. time for coming home.. Time for coming home.. "

As I Was Falling by Barrie V © 2005 Barrie V (Barrie Jones) PRS registered - PRS tunecode 092048DQ


I should add that during the run-out of this recording I found myself singing an old song - 'Falling in love again'.. this amused me somewhat and I decided on a whim to include it in the finished mix. "Falling in love again.. what am I to do.. Never wanted to.. I can't help it.." (From Wikipedia: "Falling in Love Again (Can't Help It)" is the English language name for a 1930 German song composed by Friedrich Hollaender as "Ich bin von Kopf bis Fuß auf Liebe eingestellt" (literally: "I am, from head to toe, ready for love"). The song was originally performed in the film Der Blaue Engel (English translation: The Blue Angel) by Marlene Dietrich, who also recorded the most famous English version, which became her anthem. The English lyrics were written by Sammy Lerner, though they do not include a translation of the original version's most erotic[citation needed]verse; when the English version is sung, the first verse is simply repeated. Upon reading I found out that The Beatles actually used to perform this.. again from Wikipedia: 'The Beatles version[edit]"Falling in Love Again" was covered live by The Beatles in 1962, in their early Hamburg touring days. It is the only recording from the album The Beatles, Live at the Star Club, in Hamburg, 1962, with Paul McCartney singing lead vocals, as well as on the album First Live Recordings. The Beatles had updated the melody to a rock-'n'-roll style, with a change of lyrics.' )

my backyard.. nice eh?

...attaching some recent pics of a sesh in my local hangout.. playing drum for my dear and hugely talented friend MenMen (and knocking out a few tunes meself.. ;> ) (also.. changing my opinion about Ed Sheeran lately.. anything that promotes acoustic songwriters has got to be a good thing.. right?

moi.. circa .. umm.. 2006..

moi.. circa 2006..

playing local uni gig.. June 2017

a past 'album' cover..

bottom of page